SCL University Ambassadors and Student Ambassador Scheme

An SCL initiative to promote tech law to students

We are keen to hear from SCL members who would like to take on the role of University or Student Ambassador. 

Details of the resources that SCL provides to students free of charge appear below.

SCL University Ambassadors
:

Birmingham University Ambassador
Karen Yeung
Interdisciplinary Professorial Fellow in Law, Ethics and Informatics
Birmingham Law School & School of Computer Science
K.Yeung@bham.ac.uk

Bristol University Ambassador
Ed Boal
Senior Associate and Head of Digital Media & Technology 
Gregg Latchams LLP
edward.boal@gregglatchams.com

Huddersfield University Ambassador
Ghazala Koosar
Associate
Addleshaw Goddard
Email: Gaz.Koosar@addleshawgoddard.com

King's College London University Ambassador
Roger Bickerstaff
Partner, Bird & Bird LLP

Leeds University Ambassador
Mark Lumley
Partner, Shulmans
Email: mlumley@shulmans.co.uk

Leeds Beckett University Ambassador
Mark Lumley
Partner, Shulmans
Email: mlumley@shulmans.co.uk

University of Leicester Ambassador
Mark Leiser
Lecturer in Law
Email: mrl19@le.ac.uk 

Queen Mary University of London
 Ambassador
Laura Edgar
Director of the Distance Learning Programme in Computer and Communications Law

Newcastle University Ambassador
Gareth Yates
Partner, Ward Hadaway
Email: Gareth.Yates@wardhadaway.com

The Open University Law School
Francine Ryan
Lecturer in Law- Open Justice 
Email: f.m.ryan@open.ac.uk 

Reading University Ambassador
Adrian Aronsson-Storrier
Lecturer in Law, School of Law
Email: a.m.storrier@reading.ac.uk

Sheffield University Ambassador
Kiran Chand
Legal Director
Bond Dickinson LLP
Email: kiran.chand@bonddickinson.com

Sheffield Hallam University Ambassador
Kiran Chand
Legal Director
Bond Dickinson LLP
Email: kiran.chand@bonddickinson.com

Southampton University Ambassador
Neil Brown
Senior Lawyer and Academic
Email: scl_ambassadors@neilzone.co.uk

Sussex University Ambassador
Professor Chris Marsden
Professor of Internet & Media Law
Sussex Law School, University of Sussex
Email: C.Marsden@sussex.ac.uk

The British University in Egypt Ambassador
Mohamed N. Elguindy
Program Director, Cybercrime
Faculty of Law, The British University in Egypt
Email: mohamed.elgendy@bue.edu.eg

If you are interested in becoming an SCL University Ambassador please contact hello@scl.org

SCL Student Ambassadors
:
Zoe Christodoulou
LLM Student
Queen Mary University of London

Recipient of the SCL Student Bursary Award 2017
z.christodoulou@hss17.qmul.ac.uk

Laura Martin
PhD Student
University of Strathclyde
laura.martin.101@strath.ac.uk

Alex Hum
LLM Student
London School of Economics
p.a.hum@lse.ac.uk 

Vera Vasilenko
LLM Student
University of Edinburgh
s1780604@sms.ed.ac.uk

Christopher Ireland
Law with International Legal Studies LLB
Southampton University
ci2g17@soton.ac.uk

Pippa Mckernan
LLB Student
Bournemouth University
i7425215@bournemouth.ac.uk

Cat Gould
LLB Student
University of Leeds
lw15cjg@leeds.ac.uk

Raphael Uribe Arango
LPC and MSc Student
University of Law Moorgate
Raphael.UribeArango47@law.ac.uk

Dania Dibaje
LLM Student
University of Sussex

dd263@sussex.ac.uk

Harry Smith
LLB Student
Nottingham Trent University
harry.smith2016@my.ntu.ac.uk

Farri Gaba
MEng Student
Imperial College London
farri.gaba15@imperial.ac.uk

Nigel Yee
LLB Student
Nottingham University
llyhzy@nottingham.ac.uk

Luana-Elena David
LLB Student
University College London
luana.david.15@ucl.ac.uk

Jade-Amanda Laporte
LLB Student
The City Law School, City, University of London
Jade-Amanda.Laporte@city.ac.uk

Salli LaBelle
LLB Student
Open University
salli@curvecorp.com

Viraj Ananth
LLB Student
National Law School of India University (NLSIU), Bangalore
virajananth@nls.ac.in

Kathryn Toomey
LLB Student
University of Cumbria
S1704097@uni.cumbria.ac.uk

SCL Student Ambassador Scheme:

Who should apply? Full-time students who have a passion for tech law, who are enthusiastic and proactive and would like to help SCL to promote its work to the university they currently attend.

Part of the role is to connect with the students at your university and encourage them to get involved with forthcoming SCL student initiatives such as:

We are looking for students who can communicate their enthusiasm for tech law to other students and encourage them to be involved with SCL.  

What makes a good SCL Student Ambassador?

• A passion for Tech Law

• Commitment and reliability

• Good organisational skills

• Good communication skills 

• A positive approach

• A good sense of humour

Benefits of Student Ambassadorship
:

• Mentoring scheme (All student ambassadors will be assigned to a mentor who will be a qualified lawyer specialising in tech law)

• Free attendance at SCL events (reasonable travel costs covered by SCL for those studying outside of London - available on application)

• Access to thought-leaders working in the tech law space and unparalleled networking

• Opportunity to influence the content of future SCL student events

If you are interested in applying, please send a brief CV and supporting email to hello@scl.org


Free Benefits for Students in full-time education 

Free student access to the entire content of this site: Free membership for UK students in full-time education: SCL provides free membership for UK students in full-time education with a valid ac.uk email address. Join SCL If you have any queries about SCL membership please contact the SCL office on Tel: 0117 9041242 or Email hello@scl.org

For full-time academics, SCL offers a reduced membership fee of £45. This offers full access to all the benefits of full Professional membership including a hardcopy of C&L magazine and attendance at SCL events at the concessionary rate.

Also see: Special Deal for Trainees


Society for Computers and Law A company limited by guarantee 1133537 Registered Charity No. 266331 VAT Registration No. 115 4840 85 Registered in England and Wales Registered office: Unit 4.5, Paintworks, Arnos Vale, Bristol, BS4 3EH.
 
© 2018, Society for Computers and Law

    This site uses cookies. By using the site you agree to our use of cookies as set out in our Privacy Policy.

    Please wait...