SCL University Ambassadors and Student Ambassador Scheme

An SCL initiative to promote tech law to students

We are keen to hear from SCL members who would like to take on the role of University or Student Ambassador. 

SCL Student Ambassador Scheme

Who should apply? Full-time students who have a passion for tech law, who are enthusiastic and proactive and would like to help SCL to promote its work to the university they currently attend. This scheme is not open to first year undergraduate students.

We are looking for students who can communicate their enthusiasm for tech law to other students and encourage them to be involved with SCL.  

What makes a good SCL Student Ambassador?

  • A passion for Tech Law
  • Commitment and reliability
  • Good organisational skills
  • Good communication skills 
  • A positive approach
  • A good sense of humour
  • A respectful approach to all those who you meet during your time as an SCL ambassador

Benefits of Student Ambassadorship:

  • Mentoring scheme (All student ambassadors will be assigned to a mentor who will be a qualified lawyer specialising in tech law)
  • Free attendance at SCL events
  • Access to thought-leaders working in the tech law space and unparalleled networking
  • Opportunity to influence the content of future SCL student events

If you are interested in applying, please send a brief CV and supporting email to hello@scl.org

Part of the role is to connect with the students at your university and encourage them to get involved with forthcoming SCL student initiatives such as:

Free Benefits for Students in full-time education:

Free student access to the entire content of this site: Free membership for UK students in full-time education: SCL provides free membership for UK students in full-time education with a valid ac.uk email address. Join SCL If you have any queries about SCL membership please contact the SCL office on Tel: 0117 9041242 or Email hello@scl.org

For full-time academics, SCL offers a reduced membership fee of £50. This offers full access to all the benefits of full Professional membership including a hardcopy of C&L magazine and attendance at SCL events at the concessionary rate.Details of the resources that SCL provides to students free of charge appear below.



SCL Student Ambassadors
:
If you are interested in becoming an SCL University Ambassador please contact hello@scl.org Please note: in order to be eligible for the role of SCL Student Ambassador, you must provide SCL with a reference contact from your University who has known you for at least a year. See "Who should apply" below.

Alex Hum
LLM Student
London School of Economics
p.a.hum@lse.ac.uk 
Linkedin

Cat Gould
LLB Student
University of Leeds
lw15cjg@leeds.ac.uk

Farri Gaba
Imperial College London
farri.gaba15@imperial.ac.uk
Linkedin

Luana-Elena David
LLB Student
University College London
luana.david.15@ucl.ac.uk

Salli LaBelle
LLB Student
Open University
salli@curvecorp.com
Linkedin

Viraj Ananth
LLB Student
National Law School of India University (NLSIU), Bangalore
virajananth@nls.ac.in

Esme Nicholas, Simpreet Kaur, Evelyn Gan, Victor Omoniyi
LLB Students
University of Manchester
esme.nicholas@student.manchester.ac.uk; simpreetkaur1@gmail.com; ganevelyn5259@gmail.com; victor.omoniyi@student.manchester.ac.uk
Victor's Linkedin Profile

Simpreet's Linkedin Profile
Esme's Linkedin Profile

Alexander Tweeddale
LLM Student
Leiden University
alex.tweeddale@gmail.com

Sara Moon
LLB Student
University College London
jiwonmoon97@gmail.com

Eden Tayyip
LLB Student
University of Exeter
eden.tayyip@hotmail.co.uk  

Lauren Graham, Sonny Lee, Rand Al Ramini
LLB Students
University of Edinburgh
lauren.s.graham@gmail.com; s1784531@sms.ed.ac.uk; s1764036@sms.ed.ac.uk
Lauren's LinkedIn
Sonny's LinkedIn
Rand's LinkedIn

Yuliana Diaz, Paulina Ornerlas
LLM Students
University of East Anglia

yuliana.diaz.1988@gmail.com; paog_7775@hotmail.com

Jacob Bennett
LLB Student
University of Essex
jbennee@essex.ac.uk
Linkedin

Sonalakshi Naidu
LLM Student
University of Sussex
sn427@sussex.ac.uk
Linkedin

Jacob Nolan
LLB Student
Swansea University
jakenolan1@googlemail.com
Linkedin

Amy Fitzmaurice
LLB Student
University of Law, Bloomsbury
Amy.Fitzmaurice83@law.ac.uk
Linkedin

Kayley Loo
LLB Student
University of East Anglia
k.loo@uea.ac.uk
Linkedin

Alannah Hoban
LLM Student
University of Sussex
ah560@sussex.ac.uk
Linkedin

Aljaž Mihelic
LLB Student
am19g17@soton.ac.uk
Linkedin

The SCL Student Ambassador Scheme has already proven to be so rewarding for it's participants, what with it's amazing netwroing opportunities as well as all the wisdom and our SCL mentors have to offer. Here is a testimonial by Christopher Ireland, one of our Student Ambassadors who has recently graduated:

It’s a cold winter’s evening in December 2017, and in the London office of Reed Smith the Society for Computers and Law (SCL) ‘path to tech law’ event is taking place. This would be the first of my many interactions with the society over the next one and a half years.

After attending this taster event in London, I decided to apply for the position of SCL Student Ambassador for the University of Southampton. As someone who firmly believes that legaltech and the regulation of technology are going to be the areas of greatest interest and growth in the legal sector – this role has been the perfect opportunity to explore it. 

The role offers a unique platform for networking and further learning for students. At the SCL Annual Conference in 2018, I was one of handful of students in a room of industry professionals – providing a really special chance to speak to those in practice.

I would recommend this opportunity to anyone with a genuine interest, or curiosity in the world of tech law and the incoming legaltech revolution. The events I’ve been able to attend have offered me an unparalleled insight into the legal sector and have been particularly useful for interviews at assessment centres. I have also been lucky enough to have been assigned a practicing lawyer as a mentor as part of the Student Ambassador programme.

In the 2019/2020 academic year, I’ll be on placement at Simmons & Simmons as an intern in the Innovation team. In no doubt thanks to the opportunities that SCL has offered me.


SCL University Ambassadors:

Birmingham University Ambassador
Karen Yeung
Interdisciplinary Professorial Fellow in Law, Ethics and Informatics
Birmingham Law School & School of Computer Science
K.Yeung@bham.ac.uk

Bristol University Ambassador
Ed Boal
Senior Associate and Head of Digital Media & Technology 
Gregg Latchams LLP
edward.boal@gregglatchams.com

Huddersfield University Ambassador
Ghazala Koosar
Associate
Addleshaw Goddard
Email: Gaz.Koosar@addleshawgoddard.com

King's College London University Ambassador
Roger Bickerstaff
Partner, Bird & Bird LLP

Leeds University Ambassador
Mark Lumley
Partner, Shulmans
Email: mlumley@shulmans.co.uk

Leeds Beckett University Ambassador
Mark Lumley
Partner, Shulmans
Email: mlumley@shulmans.co.uk

University of Leicester Ambassador
Mark Leiser
Lecturer in Law
Email: mrl19@le.ac.uk 

Queen Mary University of London
 Ambassador
Laura Edgar
Director of the Distance Learning Programme in Computer and Communications Law

Newcastle University Ambassador
Gareth Yates
Partner, Ward Hadaway
Email: Gareth.Yates@wardhadaway.com

The Open University Law School
Francine Ryan
Lecturer in Law- Open Justice 
Email: f.m.ryan@open.ac.uk 

Reading University Ambassador
Adrian Aronsson-Storrier
Lecturer in Law, School of Law
Email: a.m.storrier@reading.ac.uk

Sheffield University Ambassador
Kiran Chand
Legal Director
Bond Dickinson LLP
Email: kiran.chand@bonddickinson.com

Sheffield Hallam University Ambassador
Kiran Chand
Legal Director
Bond Dickinson LLP
Email: kiran.chand@bonddickinson.com

Southampton University Ambassador
Neil Brown
Senior Lawyer and Academic
Email: scl_ambassadors@neilzone.co.uk

Sussex University Ambassador
Professor Chris Marsden
Professor of Internet & Media Law
Sussex Law School, University of Sussex
Email: C.Marsden@sussex.ac.uk

The British University in Egypt Ambassador
Mohamed N. Elguindy
Program Director, Cybercrime
Faculty of Law, The British University in Egypt
Email: mohamed.elgendy@bue.edu.eg

University of East Anglia
Karen McCullagh
Course Director, LLM Media Law, Policy & Practice
UEA Law School, University of East Anglia

Email: K.Mccullagh@uea.ac.uk

The University of Law at Moorgate
Raphael Uribe
Paralegal, W Legal Ltd
Email: Raphael.Uribe@wlegal.co.uk

The University of the West of England
Dagmar Steffens
Director of Academic Law
Principal Lecturer, Law

Email: dagmar.steffens@uwe.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh
Dr. Lachlan Urquhart
Lecture in Technology Law
Email: lachlan.urquhart@ed.ac.uk

The University of Essex
Dr. Mohammed Khair Alshaleel
Lecturer and Director of Student Experience
Email: mkalsh@essex.ac.uk


Society for Computers and Law A company limited by guarantee 1133537 Registered Charity No. 266331 VAT Registration No. 115 4840 85 Registered in England and Wales Registered office: Unit 4.5, Paintworks, Arnos Vale, Bristol, BS4 3EH.
 
© 2019, Society for Computers and Law

    Please wait...